Stop your car - Never leave the scene of an accident in which you or your car was involved. No matter how slight the collision, if your fail to stop, you could be convicted of "hit and run" and be subject to criminal prosecution even if the accident was not your fault. If you are blocking a lane of travel and your car is still operable, move your vehicle to the side of the road.
Get aid for the injured - If anyone is hurt, call 911 and ask for an ambulance. Do not attempt first aid unless you are qualified to give it, as you could make matters worse instead of better.
Call the police - Call 911 for the police even if there are no injuries.
Remain in your vehicle - Put your hazard lights on to indicate that your car is not moving and stay in the car until emergency personnel have arrived.
Persons purchasing accident reports on-line will be directed to a secure website authorized to accept payments on behalf of the Pawtucket Police Department. The officer handling your accident will give you an accident report number at the scene of the accident. You will need this number in order to obtain your crash report. You may purchase your crash report online at least 48 hours after the accident by going to GetCrashReports.com.
The Records Division handles all requests for copies of police reports. Requests can be made by mail or in person.
When requesting reports by mail, please include a legal size, self-addressed stamped envelope and a check in the amount due. Also, due to the status of an investigation, some reports may not be available at the time requested. Normally, processing a request will take 1 to 3 days.
The following fee schedule applies:
The operator of a motor vehicle involved in an accident in Rhode Island that results in injuries and/or property damage in excess of $1,000, is required by law to complete a Motor Vehicle Accident Report. This report in addition to a police report must be submitted to the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles within 21 days of the accident. Failure to submit this form may result in suspension of your license and a reinstatement fee.
For more information, visit the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles website.